Too Hot To Cook!

Wow! I think this whole entire country is suffering from extensive heat this week. As I told my daughter it is not only too hot to cook but it’s also too hot to eat anything heavy. As I was contemplating the contents of the refrigerator and my list of options I thought about the wonderful cold pasta salad my other daughter makes. Yes, I have a lot of daughters. The only problem was I don’t have her recipe and she was at work. So, I decided to make up my own. Yes, I know there are hundreds of cold chicken pasta salads out there but I think this one turned out really good, if I do say so myself. Oh, and my daughter and grandson were insisting we eat it now and have something else for supper. I think it’s a winner!

Cold Chicken Pasta Salad

16 oz. box of Garden Rotini – cooked according to the directions on the box.

1/2 of a green pepper, cut into small pieces

1/2 of a small red onion, cut in small pieces

1 large peeled cucumber, cut into small pieces

6 oz can of black olives, sliced into halves

1 cup of cherry tomatoes, sliced into halves

1/2 cup of crumbled feta cheese

1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

4 sprigs of fresh basil

16 oz bottle of Italain Salad Dressing

3 boneless chicken breasts – cut into cubes

1/2 package of Italian Dressing and Seasoning

Fry the chicken in about 2 Tblsp. of olive oil. As it’s cooking sprinkle the seasoning over it. Keep stirring it so that it dosen’t stick to the pan. Cook until done, about 10 minutes. Set aside to cool.

Place the noodles, all of the vegetables, herbs and cheese in a large bowl. Toss with almost the whole bottle of salad dressing, I saved some to add later if it’s needed. Add the chicken and toss again. Refrigerate until cold.

Enjoy!

2 Comments

  1. That looks exactly like what my wife makes when it’s hot outside. Watermelon and pasta salad and she’s a happy girl in the summer.

Leave a Reply

