Snowy Days & Cookies

DSCN7090What’s the best thing to do on a snowy, blustery day? Have a tea party with some of your favorite people of course! And as everyone knows, a tea party must have cookies, fresh from the oven. At least my Grandson says so, and he is very, very smart.

When my brother and I were younger, I used to bake for him and his friends. They would come rushing in from playing outside, fill their hands with cookies, and rush back out the door. I always made the big sister disapproving face, but secretly I enjoyed it. I think they were my first big fans!

One of the cookie recipes I made back then was a quick cake mix cookie. Really fast and easy. So I sat down at the computer to check the internet to find this recipe. You can find just about anything on the internet these days and sure enough I found it on the Cooks.com recipe site! I am usually a strictly-by-scratch cake and cookie baker, but I do keep cake mixes on hand just in case of an emergency dessert situation.

So I whipped up a batch and we had a lovely tea party!

Here is the recipe from cooks.com. I always find what I’m looking for on this website. Enjoy!

CAKE MIX COOKIES

1 package of cake mix (any flavor)
1 large egg
1/4 cup of oil
1/4 cup of water
1 cup of chopped nuts, raisins, oatmeal, coconut, chocolate chips, M&M’S® etc. (anything you like in cookies)
Preheat oven to 350°F.

Combine cake mix, egg, oil, and water. Beat until well blended. Stir in remaining ingredient (s).
Drop by teaspoon about 1 inch apart onto greased cookie sheet.
Bake in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes or until done.
Makes 2 – 4 dozen. Recipe Submitted by: Jan White

2 Comments

  1. Sounds yummy! I’ll have to try it.

Leave a Reply

