A Taste of Sunshine ~ Tropical Coconut Peach Cake

Yesterday, April 19th 2013, we woke up to this:

Spring Snow

Very pretty, but certainly not spring flowers and April showers. The thing about cold snowy days is that it brings out the cooking bug in me, even more than usual. Luckily we still have some of our kids home to help eat it all.

So yesterday I made roasted chicken with stuffing, mashed potatoes and gravy, and a new cake creation. I had found a delightful looking frosting on Pinterest that made me think of sunshine and spring, just perfect for a “sprinter” day!

I’ve called  it my Tropical Coconut Peach Cake. I used a very light cake recipe, like a chiffon or angel food cake, baked in a 10″ round cake pan, then split in half. The frosting is the Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting from the Betty Crocker Lemon Velvet Cream Cake recipe, which I found on Pinterest. I substituted the lemon for 1 1/2 tsps. vanilla and 1 tsp. coconut extract. For the filling I used a can of peach pie filling, which I chopped up in my food processor for a few seconds and then stirred in about 1 1/2 cups of the frosting. I covered the first layer with the filling, then sprinkled coconut on top of that, before covering it with the top cake layer. Then I frosted the whole cake with the remaining frosting and sprinkled coconut all over the top and sides of the cake.

I think it turned out very tasty, especially since my favorite food critic said, “This is very good, Grandma!”

Leave a Reply

