Happy Mother’s Day Mom!

35506_10150843252119234_1804446986_n[1]

Mother’s Day is just around the corner. Unfortunately, not everyone is lucky enough to have a great Mom. Mine is pretty awesome. She has always been there for us, even when we tick her off. Which, considering that both my brother and I inherited her tough, steadfast nature, happens rather often.

When I think about the years she’s been my Mother, certain pictures always come to mind. She hasn’t had the easiest life, but I never remember her complaining, even though I’m sure she did. She is human after all. But if she did, I don’t remember it. It’s the impressions and memories you leave on your children that matter the most.

My Dad was in the Army when I was born, and when I was about two weeks old they sent him to Germany. Dependents couldn’t go with at that time, so my young Mother had to take care of me and wait for Dad for almost a year. I’m sure it wasn’t easy, but I like to think we were a team.

When I remember things about my Mom, I tend to see snap shots in my mind. I see her sitting on the sofa in our tiny one room apartment and sewing a sun dress out of scraps of material for me by hand, because we were too poor for a sewing machine and my Dad was in Vietnam at that time. But she made our house a home, and I remember turtles, paper dolls, and angels.

I see her standing by the Christmas tree with her keys in her hand after picking up my Grandparents. Someone had broken into our apartment and stolen the presents. We had to go stay with the neighbors while the police were there. But Mom took charge and we never felt afraid.

I see her sitting in the car watching the flames as our home burnt to the ground. She cried that day. But then she made us a new home. And when my brother and I got the mumps (on my birthday) she bought us little angel food cakes and strawberries and whipped cream, hoping it was soft enough for us to eat. The very best Mom ever!

I see her the day we went shopping and we both got our ears pierced, and then went on a picnic with my Dad and brother. The sun was shining, the air was fresh, and life was always exciting on our family outings.

I see her standing in the elevator when she had her gall bladder operation, and although she hates elevators as much as I do, she smiles reassuringly to let me know we’re ok.

I see her coping with my Father being gone all time with his job, and how she always took care of my brother and me. My Dad flew medevac in the Air Force at that time, so he was gone quite often.

There are so many, many more snap shot memories that I carry with me and always will. The way she wiped away my teenage tears whenever life got a little rough. The way she looked when she became a proud Grandma. The pride she had the day her Grandson graduated. I see her holding her great grandbabies for the first time. The kind heart that she likes to hide under her Norwegian feistiness.

I sure appreciate everything my Mom has taught me. She taught me to be a lady, to be honest, and responsible. That prayers are answered, and our strength comes first from faith in God, and secondly in believing in ones self. She taught me to be a good mom, to be kind to everyone, but to never let my guard down.  Mostly she taught me how to love.  My Mother is pretty amazing!

2 Comments

  1. stephen ditschler

    I ALWAYS SAID YOU ARE THE BEST DAUGHTER IN THE WHOLE WORLD AND I WILL SAY IT AGAIN, BECAUSE YOU ARE THE BEST! I LOVE YOU MORE THEN WORDS CAN SAY. LOVE, MOM PS, YOU SHOULDN’T MAKE YOUR MOTHER CRY!

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

