What is past is prologue ~ William Shakespeare

When is it time to leave the past in the past?  How do you know when it’s best for you to stop looking backwards, and only face forward? And how do you decide what part of the past to hold on to, and how much to let go of?

These are questions I have been asking myself for a while now. Remembering the passing of loved ones, the sudden finding of old classmates, and the anniversary of the first year since the closing of our Kmart store, all combined with the tenth year since my family has returned to the United States and my youngest child graduating from high school, is probably making a very potent cocktail of melancholy.

This leads me back to my original train of questions.  When is it ok to just remember the good times before you look too long and turn to stone?

Granny passed away seven years ago this May. She really taught me a lot and I remember her every single day. I remember the things she taught me about raising my children and I have tried to pass these words of wisdom along to them for their children. Yes, she could be very annoying, as the elders among us can be, but she knew more than a lot of people and I still really miss her, especially when I need someone to pray with or just someone to talk to. So I think that in this case it’s good to remember, it’s good to pass on her legacy and wisdom.

I lived in Germany for 4 years, from 1973 to 1977, and it was an amazing experience. I have wonderful memories of living there and attending Hahn High School, and being a Hahn High Hawk. I made so many friends there but lost touch with them when we moved away, though recently I found the Hahn Hawks Facebook page and discovered there are actually a few of these pages started. It was so neat to see all my old friends as grown-ups now, but as my hand hovered over some of their “Add Friend” links, I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. So many years have gone by, so much has happened, and we are not the same people any more. I think this one would be best left in the past, to remain as pleasant memories in the story-telling realm of my life.

And so we come to the past several years, looking back at homes and jobs lost, friends less and less seen, and life ever-changing. Ten years in another country that in our hearts will never be “Home”, and wondering why our path has led us in this direction.

Then I am reminded that everything is for a reason. The past is in the past, and it’s best to learn what lessons we can from today before moving on to tomorrow. It’s best to embrace the blessings of the new, and learn from the lessons of the old. Or as my very dear father-in law recently said, “One day at a time. All you can do is take it one day at a time.”

4 Comments

  1. very good advice Shelley! I’ve been taking one day at a time, looking only at the here and now – not even in the future and definitely putting the past behind to reflect later on, much later on! 🙂

    • You always know just what’s on my mind BFF 🙂

  2. Brenda

    I am for one very happy to have met you and that you are in my life dear friend.
    As for the past…”Don’t look back, your not going there!” But, it is okay to look back at the good stuff !

    • 🙂 Thanks Brenda! Love you too!

Leave a Reply

