Summer’s Ending With Lingonberries

I don’t know about you but my summer really flew by in a blur of work, visitors, and family fun. It went way too fast but I can’t complain, it was great and autumn has arrived. I love autumn! I love the fresh crisp air, the beautiful colors of the leaves, even the occasional rain showers. Best of all the end of summer brings football and the Minnesota State Fair! My two most favorite things to do are going to the fair and to watch the Minnesota Vikings.

Every year I go to the Vikings training camp in Mankato. It’s fun to see all the fans walking around and the kids are so cute as they try to run relays, play games, and get their faces painted in Viking colors. Watching the team practice and seeing all the new players is great. Once in a while I get an autograph on a Vikings cap that I have had autographed many times. The best will always be Pat Williams.

My most favorite thing to do at the end of summer is to go to the great get together at the Minnesota State Fair. I wait all year to go, even receiving the emails months in advance to see what the new food on a stick will be and who’s playing in the Grandstand. We love to go to the International Bazaar. Everything is so bright and cheerful. There is a stage where you can watch Irish Dancing, hear music performed by amazing groups like Tonic Sol Fa, and eat falafels, sushi, & East Indies food, all washed down with a pint of Guinness if you like.

Everyone who goes to the fair has their favorite thing that they just have to have. Mine has always been Australian Potatoes. I don’t know when they first began showing up at the fair but they have been there ever since I have been going for the past ten years. You can keep your deep fried Twinkies and Snickers, Aussie Potatoes are awesome! These are potatoes that have been sliced thinly, dipped in batter, deep fried, and then covered in ranch dressing or cheese sauce. Some people like both. Obviously you do not count calories when going to the fair, and this is an indulgence that happens only once a year.

Last year I found a new item that I hadn’t previously come across, the Lingonberry Float. In case you don’t know, a lingonberry is a small sour red berry that is kind of like a cranberry. Scandinavians like to make them into jams and syrups. Anyway, it was a super-hot day and I came across a little kiosk near the Agriculture building. I asked the young man tending this kiosk if he had something really cold and he suggested a Lingonberry Float. Up until that moment I didn’t even know they existed. It was really amazing and promptly added to my list of State Fair must haves. This year it was just as yummy.

State Fair Lingonberry Floats

I decided this was something that I needed to make up a recipe for. First I checked around to find lingonberry ice cream. There were a lot of recipes to make it, but only one place to buy it, and it wasn’t anywhere near me. I then started trying to find frozen lingonberries, also not sold in the regular grocery store. So, I had to adjust my idea to using lingonberry preserves. Lingonberry preserves are not easy to find either. This summer I found the lingonberry preserves and lingonberry syrup on a trip to Alexandria, Minnesota. If you’ve never been there, you should go. There are lots of cute shops and a family bakery that has been around forever and the smells make your mouth water from a block away. They have free coffee also.

Anyway, I found the preserves and some lingonberry syrup in the Scandinavian shop there and I was so excited to bring it all home and figure out how to make my own Lingonberry Floats!

Syrup & Preserves

It didn’t turn out exactly the same as the one from the Fair. However, I think it might be even better. The recipe is below.

Shelley’s Lingonberry Floats
I began with about 2 cups of vanilla ice cream and 1/3 cup of lingonberry preserves. I put this in my heavy duty Ninja blender. I just love that thing! But I am sure any blender would do. Then I added a little bit of heavy whipping cream, about 2-3 Tablespoons. I pulsed this until it was combined well, and then I put it into a container and into the freezer to firm up a little bit while I was getting the rest of the items together.

My Lingonberry ice cream

Next I used a soda stream to make some carbonated water. If you don’t have one, just buy some sparkling water. Most grocery stores carry it. I then took a 16 ounce glass and poured about ¼ cup of the lingonberry syrup into it. Then I added a few scoops of the ice cream and slowly poured in the carbonated water to the top. Give it a few stirs with a spoon to combine the soda water and syrup. Enjoy!

My Lingonberry Float

2 Comments

  1. Dick

    You are an amazing young lady!

    • Thank you for the compliment and thank you for reading my posts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

