Fresh Salmon & Veggies

The other day I decided to do something about my craving for salmon, which had been going on for about a month. You know how it is when you suddenly get a hankering for something and it just won’t go away? That’s how I was feeling about salmon. In the past I have bought Noname Salmon. It is a frozen fish that tastes so good and takes just a few minutes to cook. However it has become very expensive. So I went to the store to compare prices amongst the various fish products and found that if I bought fresh salmon, I would get more for my money, and it was probably going to be better tasting and healthier. Just one problem: I had never made fresh salmon and wasn’t exactly sure how to.

I came home and got to work looking up recipes on my trusty computer. Several things sounded pretty good but nothing was exactly what I wanted. So, I decided to just plan as I cooked. This is something that I often do. I start with a base item and then toss together whatever sounds good at the moment. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. Luckily for my husband and  six kids, most of my experiments over the years have turned out pretty good. Unfortunately, I have very rarely written them down, so they were one hit wonders, as I have forgotten exactly how and what I had made.

Anyway, I ended up making the salmon cooked with fresh vegetables and served over Israeli Couscous. It turned out really good and was fast and easy to make. This is one recipe that will definitely be making a come back. Hope you like it!

Fresh Salmon and Veggies

I bought about 2 pounds of  fresh Alaskan Salmon, it still had some scales on it so be sure to clean it before you cook it. I placed it on a cutting board, salt and peppered it, then sliced it into pieces about 2 inches wide.

On medium heat, put about 2 tbsps. olive oil in a skillet. Add a can of diced tomatoes. I used one can of diced tomatoes with basil and garlic in it. (You could use fresh tomatoes and spices but I didn’t have any, so canned it was.) Then add one chopped up yellow pepper and one red pepper. Let that cook a few minutes, then add 2 green zucchinis and one yellow zucchini, cut into bite size pieces. Cook for a few more minutes, then add about 2 cups of sliced mushrooms. Place the fish on top of the vegetables, skin side down first. Cover with a lid and let it cook for about 5 minutes. Turn the fish over, cover and let it cook about 5 more minutes. Serve over Israeli couscous.

I make my couscous like this: Pour about 1 tbsp. of olive oil in a pot that has a cover. Turn the heat on medium and add about 1 cup of couscous to the pot. Stir it until the couscous turns a golden brown and then stir in about 1 tbsps. of chicken soup base, stir it and then add about 1 1/2 cups of water. Cover and let it cook for 10 minutes, stirring it once or twice during the cooking time.  Serve and enjoy!

Fresh Salmon

4 Comments

  1. Sounds good! While scaling fish is good, it’s not totally needed if you don’t want to do it. Fresh is always best 😉

    • Really? Won’t those scales get into the vegetables when it cooks? Totally clueless here!

      • Oops didn’t realize you were cooking them together. Then yup, you’ll want to scale it 🙂

      • Thanks! I am trying to get into cooking more fish in my household.

Leave a Reply

