Raspberry Filled Chocolate Amaretto Cupcakes

We have been so busy lately that I didn’t even get a chance to bake the usual Valentine Goodies that I bake every year. I decided to take advantage of being housebound because of the impossible snow this week, and bake one of the recipes I had been wanting to try for awhile.

Most people make something with chocolate and strawberries for Valentine’s Day. I prefer to use raspberries, as the tartness offsets the sweetness of the chocolate.  I was given a bottle of Amaretto liqueur and have been waiting for inspiration to use it. I finally decided Amaretto should go with chocolate, and thus the idea of raspberry filled chocolate cupcakes was born.

Here’s how I made them: Begin with your favorite chocolate cake recipe, but replace 1/4 of the liquid called for with the Amaretto. Bake your cupcakes as usual. When they are cooled remove the center. I found a nifty little tool that looks kind of like an apple corer in a specialty cooking store.

I cheat here and use canned Solo Raspberry cake filling that I really like. Fill a plastic decorating bag with the raspberry filling, snip the end, and fill the center of each cupcake.

Then I made a Chocolate Amaretto Frosting, which I made up myself so there was a lot of adding a little bit of this, and a tad more of that, going on. Just go according to your taste.

Shelley’s Chocolate Amaretto Frosting

3/4 cup of cocoa

3/4 cup of boiling water

1 cup butter

1 cup shortening

2 pound bag of powdered sugar

1 tsp. vanilla flavoring

1/4 to 1/2 cup Amaretto liqueur

Stir the cocoa and boiling water together, let cool. Mix the butter, shortening, vanilla, and some of the Amaretto, for a few minutes. Gradually add half the bag of powdered sugar and the cocoa mixture, mix till smooth. Then mix in the rest of the powdered sugar and more Amaretto as needed to make a good consistency for frosting your cupcakes. Frost the cupcakes as you like. I put a fresh raspberry garnish on some of them and a dollop of raspberry filling on the others.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

