Let Her Eat Pie!

My daughter loves pie. She will actually walk through the house chirping, “Pie, pie, pie,” like a little bird until I bake her a pie. Since I am trying to be more healthy, I have been buying a lot of fruit. She will go buy more fruit, with the ulterior motive that whatever starts to get bad by the end of the week will have to become a pie. The end result is that just about every Friday she gets a fruit pie. It’s always a mixture of whatever is too good to toss out, but just not good enough to eat fresh. I have used mixtures of apples, pears, apricots, blueberries, blackberries, and strawberries. This past week it was strawberries and apples.

The Crust:
Start with your favorite pie crust recipe. I have been using this one for so many years that I am not sure where it’s from. It might be from my mom’s old Betty Crocker cookbook. I used to make at least 20 pies a week when I lived in Israel for a coffee house. Since I also worked in our building company I had find a quick and easy way to put together a pie. Therefore I use a food processor, which any pie crust connoisseur will tell you is a big no no. If you aren’t careful the crust will become tough. So have all the ingredients ready before you begin.

3 cups of all purpose flour
1 cup of margarine or butter, I use it right from the frig
1/2 cup cold water
Put the flour in a food processor, cut the margarine into piece and add to the flour. Attach the lid. Turn the food processor on for a few seconds, just until the margarine is cut up into small pieces. Turn it back on and slowly add the water just until all the ingredients are combined and start to form a ball. This will happen quickly so be sure not to over process the dough. Turn the dough out onto a floured surface. Roll into the flour, form a ball. Divide in half, form into balls. Then roll out two crusts, one to line the bottom of your pie pan, and one to cover the fruit. The pie pan I use is 10″.

Filling:
4 cups of whatever peeled and chopped up fruit that you have on hand.
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup all purpose flour
1 Tbsp. cinnamon
2 Tbsp. margarine or butter
Place the fruit in a bowl, toss with the sugar, flour, and cinnamon. Pour into the prepared pie shell. Place the margarine on top of the fruit. Cover with the second pie crust. Seal and finish the edges of the pie. Cut a few slits in the top. I like to brush the top with a little water and then sprinkle it with sugar. This makes a glaze on the top. Bake the pie on 350 degrees for about an hour, until the fruit is done and the crust is golden brown. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

