The Taste Of Summer

Finally the fresh fruits and veggie stands have produce in them! Well, sort of fresh. It has been raining so much here that the farmers haven’t been able to grow much. Whole fields have become lakes, and it doesn’t look like this will change any time soon. Yesterday we stopped at one of the roadside stands. The man there said all of the produce had been brought from Georgia, and that the Minnesota produce on the farm he worked for was still at least two weeks out. However, everything was still quite fresh, so we stocked up on a lot of goodies. We enjoyed some of it with our supper last night. You just can’t beat the taste of fresh fruit and vegetables.

The 4th of July is coming up, and it was time for me to update my, Sweet Eats By Shelley, Facebook page with some celebratory desserts for the event. I didn’t want to bake the same old thing, so I asked my 5 year old grandson what he thought the taste of summer was. He’s pretty smart. We talked about it for awhile and he decided that summer to him was bananas. Bananas are good, but I really wanted something that I hadn’t made before. So his mom’s input was added to our discussion. In the end we decided that watermelon and lemonade are what most defines the taste of summer. Cool! I had never made a watermelon cake. After looking it up, there are lot’s of recipes for it! Did you know that there is even watermelon Jell-O? You learn something new every day.

I used a recipe that I found on Pinterest for the Watermelon cupcakes, and the Lemon frosting was one that I had written down in the past, but never made. I changed some things as I was making it, so the recipe is as close as I can recall to what I actually did. I hope you have a wonderful 4th of July!

Watermelon Cake Recipe

1 box white cake mix
1 (3 oz.) box of watermelon Jell-O powder
1/2 cup watermelon puree
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup oil
4 eggs
red food coloring
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, combine cake mix and Jell-O. Add water and oil; mix on medium speed. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well. Add watermelon puree and beat until blended. Add red food coloring a little at a time, until you reach desired color. Bake cupcakes about 15-20 mins. Cool and frost.

Lemon Marshmallow Frosting

1 1/2 cups butter, room temperature
1 tsp. vanilla
1/8 to 1/4 cup of lemon juice (to your taste)
16 oz. container marshmallow fluff
3 cups powdered sugar
In a mixer beat the butter, vanilla, lemon juice, and marshmallow fluff until smooth. Add the powdered sugar and beat until it resembles a soft, whipped cream.

Leave a Reply

