Apples And Spice And Everything Nice!

Although the summer is still a few days away from being officially over, it seems that the color of the leaves and cooling air do not care what the calendar says. This is my favorite time of the year when the world is so vibrantly colored and the smells and tastes of fall are in everywhere. Cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger, all of the spices of autumn make me so happy! It’s been awhile since I sat down to write and I’ve baked a few pretty tasty things that I want to share with you, all perfect for the cooler autumn days.

I think a great cake full of fall spices is the carrot cake. Most kids ask for chocolate cake but my grandson loves carrot cake, so I made this recipe especially for him. My kids gave me a cookbook called, “Mom’s Best Desserts” that has a great carrot cake recipe in it. I made this recipe into cupcakes and frosted them with cream cheese frosting which I flavored with some reserved pineapple juice. It was grandson approved! You have to try it.

Carrot Cake
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons soda
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. allspice
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1 cup vegetable oil
1 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
4 large eggs
1 Tbsp. finely grated orange zest
1 tsp. vanilla extract
3 cups lightly packed, finely shredded carrots
8 ounces crushed pineapple, drained (I use some of the pineapple juice in my frosting)
1 cup toasted chopped walnuts

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Lightly flour a 9 x 13 baking pan. Set aside.
2. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, allspice, and nutmeg. Set aside.
3. In a mixing bowl, beat the oil and sugars until thoroughly combined. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add the orange zest and vanilla: continue beating until fluffy. Gradually add the flour mixture, mixing just until the batter is smooth and blended. Fold in the carrots, pineapple and walnuts. Spoon the batter into the prepared pan.
4. Bake for 35 minutes, or until a cake tester inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.
5. Cool on wire rack.
6. Frost with your favorite Cream Cheese Frosting when completely cool.

Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Pineapple Cream Cheese Frosting

Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Pineapple Cream Cheese Frosting

The other day I was looking for a quick and easy dessert to put together with my grand daughter. She’s almost 3 and can already help grandma bake. We have lots of fun. I had seen this recipe for Cinnamon Roll Cake going around on Facebook and it looked really good so we decided to try it. It was soooo good!  Of course now I can’t find the recipe on Facebook, however I did find the same one on Pinterest. FYI, I used yogurt instead of the sour cream, just because that’s what I had more of. 🙂 The link for it is here: Cinnamon Roll Cake

Easy Cinnamon Roll Cake

Easy Cinnamon Roll Cake

Our family recently celebrated Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year. We made lots of really good food with a sweet flavor to symbolize the hope of a sweet new year. For dessert we had apple cake, apple crisp, and apples dipped in honey. It was all a big hit and we definitely enjoyed bringing in the new year together. My apple cake recipe was given to me a long time ago by a dear friend. You can find it below, written out the same way she wrote it for me. Hope you enjoy it and have a very sweet and blessed new year!

Emily’s Apple Cake
Cream: 3/4 cup oil & 2 cups sugar
Add: 2 eggs & 2 tsp. vanilla
Add: 3 cups flour, 1 tsp. baking soda, 1 tsp. cinnamon & 3/4 tsp. salt
Add: 3 cups chopped apples (I always shred mine)

Pour into a greased cake pan. Bake on 350 degrees for about 35 – 40 minutes.
I like to either drizzle honey on top or sprinkle powdered sugar on top, but it really doesn’t need any kind of a topping at all.

Apple Crisp, Apple Cake, and Sweet Challah

Apple Crisp, Apple Cake, and Sweet Challah

2 Comments

  1. ssditschler

    Sounds really yummy,  when are you serving this carrot cake? 

    Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy S® 6.

Leave a Reply

