Lazy Day Casserole

Today has been a gloomy day with strong wind and rain. The wind tore the gutter off and blew it across the driveway a few hours ago. Considering exactly a year from today we were in the middle of a blizzard I am not complaining. But it has been one of those days when I really don’t feel like cooking, the perfect kind of day for a “throw it all together” casserole. So I decided to make a Lazy Day Casserole. I got this recipe from my husband’s aunt many years ago. She called it 7 Layer Casserole, but I lost the recipe and can only remember six of the layers. In any case it’s very easy and I’m sharing it with you all. Just in case you are also feeling lazy today. 🙂

Step #1: Oil a casserole dish. Wash, peel and thinly slice 2 potatoes. Arrange them on the bottom of the casserole dish.
3e8a19899b07c8902ebeb661974abe11[2]

Step #2: Peel and slice an onion into thin rings. Arrange the onion on top of the potatoes.
641a6a1bd078eb602d377491ce677668[1]

Step #3: On top of the onions arrange either a can of drained green beans or use a package of frozen ones.
a314007f0acd6110e54519c63e1373d2[1]

Step #4: Place a layer of rice on top of the green beans. You can use about a cup of instant rice or I like to use any left over rice from my favorite Chinese restaurant, No. 1 China. They always give us too much rice but she insists that we have to take it, so I have become really good at finding different ways to use the leftover rice.
5440c771f7a92f6b4e32a66ff850b2b3[1]

Step #5: Arrange about 1 1/2 pounds of hamburger on top of the rice. Press it down gently and then sprinkle salt, pepper, garlic and any other spices that you like on top.
cd1c2c6f9bd02fd8d1d3a4d94de7d52d[1]

Step #6: Open a large can of diced tomatoes. I use whatever I have in the pantry. Today it was diced tomatoes with basil and garlic. That will give my casserole a little extra flavor and should taste really good. Pour the whole can over the ingredients in the casserole dish.
f9b112b4c447a9a2c16dd950619bb22d[1]

Step #7: Place the casserole into a 375 degree oven and bake for about an hour, depending on how thick your layer of hamburger is. You may have to cook it a little longer.
b7d63d019cb3af93e5ac66404b399ba7[1]

There are so many different things you could use to add to the layers of this dish such as carrots, corn, kidney beans. Now that I think of it, carrots are probably my missing seventh layer, oh well. It’s really up to your imagination and what’s in the pantry. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

