My First Mirror Cake!

The other day my daughter showed me some Youtube videos of a new cake fad called Mirror Cakes. At least it was new to me. 🙂 So on Friday instead of doing all of the 101 other things I should have been doing, I decided to try it out. First I studied a few of the Youtube how to videos a little more closely. Some of them looked pretty scary until I happened to find one by the very quirky crazy Rosanna Pansino. Check out her Facebook page, she’s lots of fun!

Rosanna made the cutest little Galaxy Mirror Cake. She made it look very easy and by the end of the video I’m thinking, “How hard can this be?” I quickly whipped up a yellow cake recipe, baked it and while it cooled I hopped in my car and headed off to the local grocery store to pick up some of the few items I was missing.

After the cake was cooled I frosted it with my favorite buttercream frosting, then placed it in the refrigerator to harden a bit. I gathered together my supplies but didn’t measure everything out before I began the process. I wish I had. Trying to follow the directions, move quickly and maneuver all of the ingredients was interesting. It might be a pain in the beginning, but worth it in the long run.

Next step was making the gelatin. I have never really used gelatin like this so I was learning all kinds of new stuff with this cake. I mixed together 1/2 cup of cold water and 5 tsps. of Knox gelatin until it was thick. Set it aside to harden for about 10 minutes. This is a good time to put 8 ounces of white chocolate in a heat safe bowl and set it aside for later. I used Ghirardelli premium baking chocolate.

In a saucepan I whisked together 1/4 cup of water, 1/2 cup light corn syrup and 1 cup of sugar. Place it on the stove and cook on medium low heat for about 7 minutes, until it get’s all bubbly and the sugar dissolves.

475664418614414f249d8773b6057ce31

Take it off the stove, be careful because hot sugar is really nasty to get burnt with. Whisk in the gelatin, then whisk in the 1/2 cup of sweetened condensed milk. Pour over the chocolate pieces and let it set 2 to 3 minutes until the chocolate melts.

If you have one of those nifty emulsifiers use that to really mix together the chocolate until it’s very smooth. If you don’t have one, a blender will work fine. Then pour the chocolate mixture through a strainer to make sure all of the lumps are out.

f84d1e36e20d91d8670c6b51ab8680091

Pour the chocolate glaze into as many bowls as you want to color. I separated mine into 2 bowls for two different colors. At least I thought it was two different colors. I had chosen orange and golden yellow to make an autumn looking cake, I didn’t realize how close these two colors were until I mixed the color into the chocolate. I tried to fix it with a little bit of red, but it didn’t really help. Then I took the cake out of the frig and set it on a bowl in the middle of a parchment lined cookie sheet.

After you mix the color you want to make sure your chocolate is at 90 degrees for the perfect pouring consistency. Me being a rather impatient person let it get to about 100 degrees before I used it. It did still work but it melted the frosting a bit. Waiting would have been better.

Then came the fun part, I slowly poured the chocolate glaze over the cake and watched it coat the sides beautifully. I think I probably poured on more chocolate glaze than I should have but it was really pretty and fun to watch.

After it sat for awhile I cleaned off some of the excess glaze from around the bottom of the cake and placed it on a cake stand. I decorated my cake with candy corn and pumpkins for a fun autumn theme. It had a yummy marshmallow flavor to it and was fun to make, but obviously no where near as easy to do as Rosanna made it look. 🙂
Let me know if you make your own mirror cake. I’d love to know how it turns out. Happy baking!

2 Comments

  1. Came out wonderful !! Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

