It’s Soup Weather!

Oh my goodness! We had such an amazingly comfortable winter and then suddenly it’s like somebody opened the deep freeze and threw us all in it. It is perfect soup weather, however, and I’ve been making a lot of it. Lentil soup was the most recent. I love lentil soup but it never turns out great for me. So I started browsing through Pinterest (whoever the genius is behind Pinterest I just want to thank them) and I found what sounded like a really yummy vegan lentil soup. I got out all of the ingredients then decided it should be doubled, so I got out more ingredients and then I started following the recipe. But me being me that’s about where the ‘recipe following’ ended. I tend to take recipes as more of a suggestion than a fact. It turned out great and I appreciate the Cookin’ Canuck for leading the way. I have written the instructions for how I tweaked my soup below. You can find the original recipe for Hearty Lentil & Black Bean Soup on the blog Cookin’ Canuck.

Ingredients:
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 large onion, chopped
1 cup chopped celery
4 cloves minced garlic
2 tsp. spanish paprika
2 tablespoons cumin
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. black pepper
3 bay leaves
2 (14 oz.) can diced tomatoes
2 cup dried brown lentils
12 cups vegetable broth
2 (14 oz.) can black beans, drained and rinsed

 

Instructions:
Heat olive oil in Dutch oven or pot over medium heat. Sauté the onions and celery for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add garlic, spices and bay leaves.

Stir in the 2 cans of diced tomatoes, lentils and the vegetable broth. Bring to a boil then reduce the heat slightly and cook, stirring occasionally, until lentils are tender, 25 to 35 minutes.

Remove from the heat and let cool for about 10 minutes. Discard the bay leaves. Put about 4 cups of the lentil mixture and 2 cans of drained and rinsed black beans in a blender or food processor. Pulse until almost pureed, but still course.

Pour the blender mixture back into the pot with the remaining lentil mixture. Stir and reheat over medium heat. Enjoy!

fdce453854d726648576a1b84ece0a341

2 Comments

  1. Yum! I LOVE Lentil soup and will hav to try your recipe!

    • Let me know what you think when you do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

