February, March & My Cream Puff Obsession Continues

Hello everybody! These past few months have been busy with birthdays, baby showers, wedding cake tasting and of course holidays. Both of my grandsons had birthdays and it’s always fun to create what they ask for. They begin thinking about it and saving pictures months in advance. This year we had a construction site and Batman Lego cakes. Legally I can not sell a Batman Lego cake to the public because of copyright laws and all that, but I can make it for my grandson. I think it turned out pretty good. The Grands were happy and that’s all that matters. I also made a second attempt at petite fours for my daughters birthday. Years I ago I tried it and wasn’t impressed but after watching the Great American Baking Challenge I decided to try it again. They make it look so easy! It’s a lie. It is not. Also they are super sweet and I’m still not impressed. It won’t be added to my Sweet Eats website menu any time soon. My niece had a lovely bee themed baby shower that was lots of fun to do. Below are pictures of some of my creations for February and March.

Valentines Day, Purim and St. Patrick’s Day were all celebrated in our home this year. Everyone knows what Valentine’s Day is but not a lot of people know about Purim. It is a holiday commemorating the saving of the Jewish people from a really bad guy named Haman. You can read about it in the book of Esther in the Bible. Purim and St. Patrick’s Day were about the same time this year so I decided to pair the traditional Purim cookie, known as Hamanstachen in Yiddish, with what else? Irish cream! This Chocolate and Irish Cream filled cookie, drizzled with white chocolate and green sprinkles was sooooooo good!

81704c6273bff38c8edb5e1cbc82969f

St. Patrick’s Day! We actually had the whole soda bread, corn beef and cabbage meal twice this year. It’s so yummy! Every year I try to create a different take on traditional desserts to celebrate the holidays. St. Patrick’s Day has turned out to be one of the more challenging ones. There’s not a lot to work with. I once asked a very good friend, who happens to be a beautiful Irish lass, what spices are used in Ireland. She laughed and said, “Salt, pepper and for a bit of adventure some cinnamon.” So that didn’t help me much. This year I decided to combine my cream puff obsession with my Irish love to create the most amazing cream puff ever, Chocolate Cherry Irish Cream Filled Cream Puffs! I also made regular vanilla cream puffs and strawberry and cream filled cream puffs, which were also really yummy but nothing like the main event!

How to make Chocolate Cherry Irish Cream Filled Cream Puffs

Make your regular cream puff recipe. I like to use Betty Crocker’s Cream Puff recipe. Bake them, slice them in half and let them cool. Then whip up your cream filling. 77d869480b66805b691e18ebeb38f05d

Chocolate Cherry Irish Cream Whipped Cream Filling
1 pint of heavy whipping cream
1/2 cup (or to taste) of Bailey’s Chocolate Cherry Irish Cream
1 package of vanilla instant pudding

Beat all of the ingredients together with a mixer until the cream thickens and holds it’s shape.

Your puffs should be cool now. Spoon a good sized dollop of the cream filling on the bottom of each puff. Cover with the top puff. Melt about 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips to drizzle over the top of each cream puff. Then sprinkle on some edible shamrocks. I found these at Michael’s. They looked like fun so I had to use them. Keep the puffs refrigerated until you eat them.

There you have it, Chocolate Cherry Irish Cream Filled Cream Puffs. Enjoy!

a8e6f4e66c5f8bd2f421da8ceabfaf4b

Leave a Reply

